Movements (for us and them) | 2018


Movements (for us and them) lifts its content and form from the Baroque concerto grosso. It was commissioned by the Australian Chamber Orchestra and Stanford Live.

More information about the work can be found here


Seventeen strings (

Duration: 17'



"Adams explains the work as a response to the baroque concerto grosso form, in which he explores the relationship between the composer, orchestra and the audience. Adams clearly had the measure of the ACO and his work fed their strengths: extreme responsiveness; swift intuitive communication; perceptive interpretation of experimental music; consummate skill creating sound textures. Inspired by Italo Calvino’s Six Memos for the New Millenium, Adams' work creates in sound music on which to balance the weight of the world. Fluidity of musical ideas and communication between players and music is key, and I was moved by the subtle emotional power of this new work... for me this performance stole the show"

Jennifer Gall, The Canberra Times 

"The ACO was totally at home with Movements (for us and them). Their playing of the feverish rhythms, the impossible dynamics, the myriad moods, and the ever-unanswered question undoubtedly created the relationship the composer wanted, confirmed when Adams stepped onto the stage to warm applause from audience and orchestra alike."

Clinton White, Limelight Magazine

"The Australian Chamber Orchestra began its Saturday concert under leader Richard Tognetti with the world premiere of Movements (for us and them) by American Samuel Adams, a mutating series of carefully wrought textures, in which cross-rhythms create the juxtaposition of ideas in independent tempos to create evolving trance-like energy and radiance."

The Sydney Morning Herald