Drift and Providence | 2012


About the work:

Drift and Providence is a five-movement work scored for large orchestra and live electronic sound design. Lauded as "wondrously alluring" by the San Francisco Chronicle and "miraculous, music of a composer with a personal voice and keen imagination" by the New York Times, the work has had performances throughout the United States since its 2012 world premiere in Miami, Florida under the baton of Michael Tilson Thomas. In the fall of 2014, MTT took the work on a national tour with the San Francisco Symphony, culminating in a performance at Carnegie Hall, which was broadcasted on WQXR. In the summer of 2016, The National Orchestral Institute will record the work as part of a collaboration with Naxos of America. 

The work was co-commissioned by New World Symphony and San Francisco Symphony. 


3(II, II double picc).3.3(II=bass, III=cbass).3(III=cbsn) - 4.2.3(III=bass tbn).1 - perc (4 players) [ vibr(2), sizzle cymb(4), brake dr(4), tam, bass dr, triangle, crot(2 oct), low tom(2), side dr ] timp - strings ( suggested)


• 8 DPA microphones
• mixer
• MOTU 828 audio interface (or equivalent)
• laptop prepared with Max/MSP (at least version 6)
• loudspeakers
• subwoofer (optional)


Drift and Providence was made possible with the support from the New Music USA Composer Assistance Program.